

ARKANSAS JAZZ HERITAGE FOUNDATION / ARKANSAS JAZZ HALL OF FAME

www.arjazz.org / info@arjazz.org

P. O. Box 251187, Little Rock, AR 72225-1187 Ph. 501.661.1604

President Michael Lewis Cobb, CPA: 501.225.2133, mcobb@cobbandsuskie.com

Vice President Nan Renaud: 501.539.0052, nan.renaud@att.net Secretary James Thomson: 501.225.2891, arjazzman@sbcglobal.net

Treasurer Melissa Woods: 501.313.8033, woodsmrs@att.net Directors: Bob Cullers, Sterling Ingram, Chalk Mitchell

Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame Selection Criteria

NOMINATION CRITERIA: Any Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame nominee who was not born in Arkansas must have resided in the state for at least ten years. Provided the nomination is supported by a documented history of significant achievement and/or contribution specific to jazz (within or beyond the state of Arkansas), a nominee may be a musician, composer, educator, author, or major contributor to another aspect of jazz.

NOMINATION PROCEDURE: A current, official nomination form must be requested from AJHF Secretary James Thomson (501.225.2891) or print from DOWNLOADS tab on AJHF website https://www.arjazz.org/archive/downloads/ajhf_hall_of_fame_nomination.pdf. If possible, the nomination form should be completed by the nominee. If the nominee is incapacitated or no longer living, the person making the nomination is responsible for verifying all information before signing and submitting the form, along with contact information for the nominator. Every attempt should be made to provide all applicable details requested on the form. Citations/links to online sources are encouraged and attachments are permitted. The completed form (typed or printed legibly, except for signature) must be submitted to a current AJHF officer for presentation to and consideration by the entire board (officers and directors) at the next board meeting with an agenda including Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame nominations.

SPECIAL NOTE ABOUT NOMINATIONS: Though not all nominees become candidates for induction, each nomination form should be completed in detail and with care since, if the nominee is selected for induction, the information on that form will provide the basis for a formal profile (written and approved by the AJHF board) for inclusion under "Hall of Fame" on the AJHF website and possible submission to the Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture (www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net), which is part of the Central Arkansas Library System's Butler Center for Arkansas Studies. All those completing nomination forms are encouraged to peruse profiles and cited sources for Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame inductees already included in the encyclopedia as of 2016: Bob Dorough; Al Hibbler; Scott Joplin; Louis Jordan; Fred Marshall; Walter Norris; Robert Palmer; Art Porter, Jr.; Art Porter, Sr.; Jim Porter; Pharoah Sanders; John Stubblefield; Clark Terry; Sister Rosetta